Room Review

Let me start this review saying that I think that Room should win picture of the year at the Oscars. Its probably the most emotionally engaging movie that I have ever seen. The movie has a pretty simple concept, and the story is that a women is abducted and made to live in this guy’s shed for years and years (With a basic kitchen, bed, microwave, etc.) and raises a child. She raises the kid, named Jack, for the first 5 years of his life in this room, until she decides to use Jack to help her escape.

The movie is roughly 2 hours long, but I was on the edge of my seat the entire time. Although, the reason I was, was because that I was so emotionally engaged with Jack, i almost felt as if I knew him and could feel what he was going through. This is done through close shots of the characters and fact that the two main characters (the mother and Jack) are the only characters on the screen or the only characters engaging in dialogue for the majority of the movie.

This review is almost tough for me to write, because of the fact that I just used the term “emotionally engaged” in a review, and I am usually not a fan of emotional movies, or chick flicks. However, Room is different. It’s different because I think everyone has a little part of them can relate to Jack. For the most part, he remains optimisitic and easy going throughout the movie, while his mom gets extremely stressed at times. I know lately I’ve been trying to channel my inner Jack when times get tough, because I realize that things could be much worse, I could be trapped in a room for the first five years of my life.

Overall, I would recommend anyone rent this movie and give it a look, you won’t be disappointed.

Standard

Leave a Reply

